Unpacking the Packed Bags: An Impromptu Road Trip

This past week has been one perpetual night before Christmas.  You know, that feeling where you just can’t sleep because you’re so anxious/excited for the following day to begin?  (I would be lying if I didn’t say I am somewhat nervous too)

Just when I thought my going-away festivities couldn’t get any better, my sister tells me of her insane idea to make a random seven hour drive to Pittsburgh, my favorite city in America one last time.  She couldn’t have been more right, I needed this trip – to get out and see the beauty of our country one last time before I leave.

Pittsburgh from the incline.

Pittsburgh from the incline.

Pittsburgh will always hold a special spot in my heart as it has huge significance to going out and accomplishing the craziest of dreams.  Long story short, I picked up and left Michigan to live in Pittsburgh during the summer of 2011….subleased and apartment, found a couple jobs, met amazing people along the way, and pushed myself to live in a random and new city for a few months.

17522_10151821404866834_1893349078_n

When you’re in your 20’s you should totally do crazy stuff like that.  It doesn’t necessarily mean randomly moving to a city for a summer.  It could simply be a small unplanned 24 hour road trip with family!  There’s so much to see and do and we really don’t get enough time to see it all so be absolutely spontaneous and appreciate the time you do have.

2 thoughts on “Unpacking the Packed Bags: An Impromptu Road Trip

  1. Hi!! I was looking for blogs that were related to teaching english in South Korea and ran across yours! My husband and I leave for Seoul in 8 days to teach english and I am nervous and excited!! I will definitely be following yours though! Good luck!

    • Glad you stumbled across my blog! I definitely understand your mixed nerves and excitement as I leave tonight for Gwangju. Safe travels to you and your husband next week! I’ll have to check out your blog as well!

Leave a Reply

