Bittersweet Goodbyes

The best part of being an English teacher?  Watching your children grow in their lessons.  Nothing compares to the gratification of seeing the look in a child’s eyes when he or she finally understands a new concept or the moment when a child finds enjoyment in the lesson.  It’s an awesome feeling and I’m extremely grateful to have stumbled upon this opportunity.  

In other news, I just had one of the mothers of my students create a tab for me at the coffee shop below my school!  It was such a nice gesture and extremely appreciated, nothing is better than the gift of coffee! 

Tomorrow ends one of my favorite classes.  As a parting gift, I thought it completely relevant to give her a journal and pen to encourage her to continue writing: Image

5 thoughts on “Bittersweet Goodbyes

  1. Good for you! Sounds very exciting! I had thought of doing what you are doing when I graduated college many years ago! I ended up teaching in NY, but we actually have lots of foreign students – Korean, Chinese…they are such hard-working kids and I applaud them for moving so far from home! Good for you for doing the same to help them!

    • Thanks, Kate! I’m very fortunate to have stumbled across this opportunity, I’m actually a psychology major with no prior teaching experience but I’m finding that it’s an extremely rewarding career! I think I may have found my calling! 🙂

      • Grea! It will take everything you have if you do it right, but it is worth it. Very rewarding in the long-term…not always instant gratification, but it comes around. Good luck!!

Leave a Reply

