I am Fluent in Gestures

Making a 20-minute walk drenched and dripping in sweat is not my idea of fun.  I’m getting pretty used to the stares from children and people in general as they pass by and the occasional “Hi” or “Hello” from a stranger just wanting to use their English, but today was embarrassing.  I really don’t know how people live in heat like this, a mere twenty minute walk to the store means soaking through every thread of my shirt, it wasn’t a pretty sight!

This was my first solo adventure to Lotte mart and boy, did I choose the wrong day to brave the aisles alone!  Picture the super-Saturday sales in America and multiple that by five or ten and you’ll realize the amount of people bustling through the huge store.  Everywhere I tried to turn, people were in my way or I was in their way (I really need to learn the Korean word for “excuse me”) and every aisle had a store employee yelling something about their product or wanting you to try a tiny sample of the latest coffee, cracker, or some type of meat!  It got to the point where I had to completely leave the grocery area out of over-stimulated exhaustion!   

After the magnetic cart/escalator ride, I found myself relieved of the wild rampage of the grocery section.  I meandered over to the pillow aisle to see if I could find better pillow.  A cute sales lady attempted to help me and we stood gesturing and pointing at certain things for a good 10 minutes until I found a suitable pillow.  

Lying in bed right now, and I can say that this is the most comfortable pillow I’ve ever owned.  Somehow, through all the gestures, head nods, and pointing, the sales lady had enough patience to match me with a fabulous pillow.  

Off to dream land I go, goodnight! 

Interesting Fact: Just like in Europe, you need to purchase bags or bring your own bags at Lotte mart.  I still don’t understand why the USA hasn’t adopted this?

3 thoughts on “I am Fluent in Gestures

  1. Hi! I am learning Korean and the way to say “excuse me” when you are going through a crowd can be said a few different ways. You can say “Chen shi man yo” which is like “let me pass” or “Chan ka man yo” which is about the same. You can also say “Cho gi yo” which is like getting someone’s attention or like, “hey you, over there!”. Just say them fast and practice not trying to over pronunciate like we tend to when learning a new language. Hope that helps!

  2. I have an app on my phone called “Pocket Korean” and the folks from “Talk To Me In Korean” do podcast lessons. It was free and so helpful. They are also on Youtube and do videos as well. I have learned so much just by listening to them. You are probably super busy, but you should check it out when you have the time. An nyeong hi gye se yo!

Leave a Reply

