Once a Pirate, Always a Pirate: Halloween in Korea

Who would guess that the best Halloween I’ve experienced would be in a country that doesn’t even officially celebrate it?

It’s been a long week of preparations and decorations, but it all came together last night around 1am.  The people I work with are awesome.  We all spent the last few nights at the school decking the halls with ferocious ghosts and goblins all to ensure the children have a “spook-tacular” Halloween that rivals any other kindergarten class experience in the USA.

Image

What a late night at work does to you.

We did it!

We did it!

I really think we showed Korea what Halloween is all about.  It was such a neat experience working with all the TN staff members into the wee hours of the morning and watching the whole production come together.  The best part?  The looks on the children’s faces, their sheer excitement for the costumes, decorations, and activities planned made everything so worth it.

Hailey and Brian: haunted house buddies.

Hailey and Brian: haunted house buddies.

Dan the man showing off my sword.  He requested several angles to get the perfect pose!

Dan the man showing off my sword. He requested several angles to get the perfect pose!

These boys are such cuties!

These boys are such cuties!

Emily teacher and I: Tinkerbelle and Captain Jack Sparrow

Emily teacher and I: Tinkerbelle and Captain Jack Sparrow

My last class of the day was brutal, I was utterly exhausted and ready to clean the Jack Sparrow smudges from my face, but as I walked into (and left) the classroom my class began humming the Pirates of the Caribbean theme in unison.  How could one not get a laugh out of that?!  It was definitely the energy boost I needed.

I didn’t even get to the greatest part yet: It’s not over.  We get to dress up tomorrow AND host another festival on Saturday so the older children have the chance to attend.

The kindergartners and teachers after a great day!

The kindergartners and teachers after a great day!

Time to try to attempt to clean the black eye liner from my face.  Happy Halloween!

Leave a Reply

