Modern Day Moses Miracle: The Jindo Sea Parting

A miracle: something that seems impossible but happens anyway.

General life advice.

General life advice.

Science explains the “miracle” is a result of extra low tides (click here for an actual National Geographic explanation), but either way the Jindo sea parting festival was an incredible experience not only to walk the path but to see sea life that I’ve only ever read about in books.  As we trudged through the miraculous path, we found some areas not completely clear.  At times, we found ourselves sinking quickly into thigh-high waters.

A Korean news crew followed us.

A Korean news crew followed us.

A starfish!  We threw it back into the water.

A starfish! We threw it back into the water.

One of the coolest experiences was being one of the first people out there.  We were followed by Korean news crews daring enough to bring cameras into the sea.  While locals followed beside us gathering the freshest seafood to cook and sell, we just tried to keep on the path to make it to Modo Island.

A seafood pancake full of seaweed, squid, and other goodies!

A seafood pancake full of seaweed, squid, and other goodies!

Unfortunately, the tide came in quickly and we weren’t able to make it completely to Modo Island, but we were part of the group that was furthest from the main island.  We followed the warning calls and went back to land before we were completely swallowed up by the tide…and it came in quickly.  I’m writing this blog post two days after the fact, and my legs still hurt from walking against the strong current during the walk in.  On my way back, my thigh-high boots filled with water so I was also sloshing around in my boots.

We all made it back to land and pulled our boots off to find we had taken parts of the sea with us;  I literally POURED water out of my boots!  As I sat on the stairs and poured out my boots, I watched the last of the daring souls get rescued because they didn’t take the warning whistles seriously.

So much for the thigh high flood boots.

So much for the thigh high flood boots.

The Jindo sea parting festival has got to be one of my most memorable experiences here.  If anyone reading this is interested, I went with an awesome tour guide and I’ve done several trips with him before.  Pedro Kim rented out several comfortable buses and took us to several locations on the island, including a Jindo dog show!

In spite of the circumstances at work, I’m glad that my co-workers and I still have these moments to appreciate.

One thing is for sure, I’ve found a whole new love for nature while living in Korea.  From gorgeous mountaintops to sea parting adventures, we live in one amazing and awe-inspiring world.

Moses status!  This was toward the middle of the sea!

Moses status! This was toward the middle of the sea!

Leave a Reply

