Teaching ESL in the USA

…and Alissa Teacher is officially back in action!

I recently flew down to Miami from Detroit to interview for a job teaching ESL …and I landed the job!

I’m currently sitting in a South Beach party hostel scouring over tomorrow’s lesson plans and I honestly couldn’t be more excited!  I never thought I’d get the opportunity to teach English in America, but here I am in Miami – apartment shopping!

The only difference I’m seeing with my past job in Korea verses teaching English in the US is that lessons here are centered around adult students.  I’m having a hard time transitioning my quirky teaching style to fit a more formal and mature approach.

Any adult ESL teachers out there – I am happy to take some pointers!

Lesson One: Travel Dialogue

Lesson One: Travel Dialogue

Leave a Reply

